Alexander Badmaevich Soktoev (23.02.1931-3.07.1998)
  Rambler's Top100
 
 

Soktoyev A.B.




     *bibliography + data base (Rus)
     *his life and work
     *selected works (Rus)



Schools of thought in NSC
ALEXANDER BADMAEVICH SOKTOEV, CORRESPONDING MEMBER OF RAS*
 

Alexander Badmaevich Soktoev, corresponding member of RAS (1931-1998) is the leading expert in the field of literary criticism and folklore, the leader of Siberian folkloristic school, the founder and the organizer of a fundamental academic scientific publications of a 60-volume bilingual series «Folklore monuments of peoples from Siberia and the Far East», the first director of the Institute of philology that is the unique in the system of Russian Academy of Sciences.

A.B.Soktoev graduated from the East Faculty of Leningrad state university in 1953, and then postgraduate study of V.I.Lenin Moscow State Pedagogical institute in 1956.

In October 1956, Alexander Badmaevich comes to Ulan-Ude and starts working in D.Banzarov Buryat State Pedagogical institute first as assistant, and then senior teacher. He reads a course of lectures on the foreign literature. In the course of time, he gets the rank of senior lecturer. During many years (1959-1965) he heads a sub-faculty of Russian and foreign literature.

In 1966, Alexander Badmaevich switches to work at the position of senior research associate in the department of literary criticism and folklore studies of the Institute of social studies of the Buryat Branch of the Siberian Branch of AS USSR. In 1970-1974, he is the scientific secretary of Presidium of the Buryat Branch of SB AS USSR. During eight years (1975-1983), he works as the deputy director of the Buryat institute of social studies.

In 1983, A.B.Soktoev moved to Novosibirsk and became the organizer of folklore sector of peoples of Siberia and the first director of Institute of philology the United institute of history, philology, and philosophy of the Siberian Branch (1991-1998). He founded a series «Folklore monuments of peoples from Siberia and the Far East», and executed the duties of the assistant for editor-in-chief of this series of books.

The main purpose of the series constitutes a scientific edition of outstanding folklore works of art of peoples from Siberia and the Far East.

The concept to publish folklore classics of Asian Russia that was designed by A.B.Soktoev included a series of innovation positions: to clear a barrier between philological, musicological, and ethnohistorical approaches in research and textual part of the series, their combination and mutual benefit; to conserve the language, dialect, and musical authenticity of the text publications; to achieve the maximum expressiveness of the scientific translation, adequate to the origin; to supply each volume with a phono appendix that was furnished with voices of storytellers and singers.

It has been possible to unite specialists around the project, namely, those in folklore, ethnographers, linguists, ethnomusicologists within the former Soviet Union from Baltic up to Kamchatka: they included scientists from Academic Scientific Council in folklore, 14 scientific research institutes, and 20 institutions of higher education. Number of all participants that worked on the volumes of the series exceeded 150 person.

It was conceived that the series «Folklore monuments...» would publish the total of 60 volumes. As of 2010, 29 volumes have been published. The series includes monuments of oral art of many peoples from Siberia and the Far East, the samples of Russian, Belarus, Ukrainian, Jewish, and Tatar folklore, carriers of which live in the identified region. Опубликованы «Evenki heroic legends», «Alamzhi Mergen» Buryat epos, «Russian epic poetry of Siberia and the Far East», samples of Yakut, Tuva, Nanai, Altai, Khakass, Udehe, and Shor folklore have been published.

Responses and reviews in Russian and foreign press (Izv. AN. Syer. lit. i yaz.; American Antropologist; Arctic Anthropology; Canadian-American Slavic Studies; Fabula etc.) confirm that the series has gained the great scientific recognition. It has been classed with «the most significant humanitarian publications in the history of Russia and in Russian modern school of thought», and with «one of the most impressing from all publishing projects of the 20th century».

In 2001, the collective of A.Derevyanko, V.Gatsak, N.Alekseev, E.Kuzmina, S.Rozhnova, A.Myreeva, M.Tulohonov, and A.Soktoev (posthumously) was awarded with the State premium of Russian Federation for the development of the concept of the academic series «Folklore monuments of peoples from Siberia and the Far East» and for its realization in 18 volumes that came out to public (Nauka v Sibiri, 2002, N 32/33).

A.B.Soktoev is the initiator and the participant of ten frontal complex expeditions to reveal centers of modern folklore occurrences in Siberian-and-Far East region: they have yielded qualitative records for phono appendices and musical sections of 50 volumes.

Supervised by A.B.Soktoev, the Institute of philology of SB RAS that performs comprehensive research into linguistics, folklore studies, and literary criticism appeared to be among the leading Russian centres in the field of philological sciences, the collaborators of which are involved in the work to actively effect the great international scientific projects.

A.B.Soktoev examined a formative stage and evolution of the Buryat national literature in a wide historical context of intercultural interaction with cultures of other peoples of Siberia and adjacent territories. An in-depth studying the sources of the Buryat literature, in its correlation with the most ancient literatures of the East, namely, Indian, Tibetan, and Mongolian literature, has allowed to change radically an immediate view of it as of a recent written nature that dominated in the Soviet philological science.

High scientific professionalism of A.B.Soktoev, its initiative, his outstanding capabilities as the organizer and the coordinator of large-scale research, of publishing programs, and programs in culture preservation are recognized not only in Russia, but also outside the country. A.Soktoev was a member of the International Coordination Council on studying the cultures of related people from Russia and the USA.

Memory of A.B.Soktoev is immortalized by dedication record in the volume title of the series «Monuments...» (starting from the 19-th volume); and also by the nominal grant that was founded by the President of the Buryatiya Republic in the field of literary criticism for pupils, students, and post-graduate students; and by regular scientific conferences «Soktoev readings» (since 2006). A cabinet that was named by him was opened in the Buryat State University.

*Sources:1)Pamyati Alyeksandra Badmayevicha Soktoyeva // Nauka v Sibiri. - 1998. - N 27. - C.2.
2)Romodanovskaya YE.K. CHlyen-korryespondyent RAN Alyeksandr Badmayevich Soktoyev (1931-1998) / Romodanovskaya YE.K., Gatsak V.M., Fyedorov A.I. // Izvyestiya Rossiiskoi akadyemii nauk. Syeriya lityeratury i yazyka. - 1999. - T.8, N 1. - C.79-80.
3)Soktoyev Alyeksandr Badmayevich // Rossiiskaya akadyemiya nauk. Sibirskoye otdyelyeniye: Pyersonal'nyi sostav / sost.: G.Vodichyev, G.M.Zaporozhchyenko, O.N.Kalinina, S.A.Krasil'nikov, N.A.Kupyershtokh, D.G.Simonov, S.N.Ushakova, O.N.SHyelyegina; otv. ryed. V.M.Fomin. - Novosibirsk: Nauka, 2007. - S.510-511.
A.B.Soktoyev i A.G.Kalkin
 
A.G.Kalkin, a famous Altai kaitchi, plays the topshur for A.B.Soktoyev and for Z.G.Kazagachyeva, the compilator of the volume «Altai heroic legends»
 
 

 

Schools of thought in NSC A.B.SoktoyevPrepared by YEkatyerina Byeryezhnaya and Syergyei Kann  
 


[Home | Library | Akadyemgorodok | News | Exhibitions | Resources | Partners | InfoPilot | Search | Russian]
During 2004-2006 the project was supported by the grant of RFBR N 04-07-90121
© 2004-2016 Branch of SPSL (Novosibirsk)
Access statistics: archives | current

Updated: Wed Feb 27 14:46:46 2019. Size: 14,400 bytes.
Visit N 1602 since 15.03.2012

Навигация
 
 
Соктоев А.Б.




     *библиография + база данных
     *жизнь и деятельность
     *избранные труды



Научные школы ННЦ
ЧЛЕН-КОРРЕСПОНДЕНТ РАН АЛЕКСАНДР БАДМАЕВИЧ СОКТОЕВ*
 
Памятники фольклора
 
Памятники фольклора
народов Сибири и
Дальнего Востока

Член-корреспондент РАН Александр Бадмаевич Соктоев (1931-1998) - ведущий специалист в области литературоведения и фольклора, лидер сибирской фольклористической школы, основатель и организатор фундаментального академического научного издания 60-томной двуязычной серии «Памятники фольклора народов Сибири и Дальнего Востока», первый директор единственного в системе Российской академии наук Института филологии.

В 1953 году А.Б.Соктоев окончил восточный факультет Ленинградского государственного университета. В 1956-м - аспирантуру Московского государственного педагогического института имени В.И.Ленина.

В октябре 1956 года Александр Бадмаевич приезжает в Улан-Удэ и приступает к работе в Бурятском государственном педагогическом институте имени Д.Банзарова сначала ассистентом, затем старшим преподавателем. Читает курс лекций по зарубежной литературе. Со временем утверждается в звании доцента. И многие годы (1959-1965) заведует кафедрой русской и зарубежной литературы.

В 1966 году Александр Бадмаевич переводится на работу в отдел литературоведения и фольклористики Института общественных наук Бурятского филиала Сибирского отделения Академии наук СССР старшим научным сотрудником. В 1970-1974 годах он является ученым секретарем Президиума Бурятского филиала СО АН СССР. Восемь лет (1975-1983) исполняет обязанности заместителя директора Бурятского института общественных наук.

В 1983 году А.Б.Соктоев переезжает в Новосибирск, становится организатором сектора фольклора народов Сибири и первым директором Института филологии Объединенного института истории, филологии и философии Сибирского отделения (1991-1998). Он основывает серию «Памятники фольклора народов Сибири и Дальнего Востока», выполняет обязанности заместителя главного редактора этой серии книг.

Основная цель серии - научное издание выдающихся в художественном отношении фольклорных произведений народов Сибири и Дальнего Востока.

Разработанная под руководством А.Б.Соктоева концепция издания фольклорной классики Азиатской России включала ряд новаторских положений: преодоление в исследовательской и текстологической частях серии разрыва между филологическими, музыковедческими, этноисторическими подходами, их сочетание и взаимообогащение, сохранение языковой, диалектной и музыкальной аутентичности публикаций текста, достижение максимальной выразительности научного перевода, адекватного оригиналу, снабжение каждого тома фоноприложением с голосами сказителей и певцов.

Вокруг проекта удалось объединить фольклористов, этнографов, лингвистов, этномузыковедов бывшего Советского Союза от Прибалтики до Камчатки: ученых из академического Научного совета по фольклору, 14 научно-исследовательских институтов и 20 вузов. Численность всех участников работы над томами серии превысила 150 человек.

Серия «Памятники...» рассчитана на выпуск 60 томов. К 2010 году выпущено 29 томов. В составе серии — памятники устного творчества многих народов Сибири и Дальнего Востока, включая образцы русского, белорусского, украинского, еврейского, татарского фольклора, носители которого проживают в названном регионе. Опубликованы «Эвенкийские героические сказания», бурятский эпос «Аламжи Мэргэн», «Русская эпическая поэзия Сибири и Дальнего Востока», образцы якутского, тувинского, нанайского, алтайского, хакасского, удэгейского и шорского фольклора.

Отзывы и рецензии в российской и зарубежной печати (Изв. АН. Сер. лит. и яз.; American Antropologist; Arctic Anthropology; Canadian-American Slavic Studies; Fabula и др.) подтверждают, что серия получила большое научное признание. Ее относят к «самым значительным гуманитарным публикациям в истории России и ее современной научной школы», к «наиболее впечатляющим из всех издательских проектов ХХ столетия».

В 2001 году коллектив в составе А.Деревянко, В.Гацака, Н.Алексеева, Е.Кузьминой, С.Рожновой, А.Мыреевой, М.Тулохонова, А.Соктоева (посмертно) был награжден Государственной премией РФ за разработку концепции академической серии «Памятники фольклора народов Сибири и Дальнего Востока» и ее реализацию в выпущенных в свет 18 томах (Наука в Сибири, 2002, N 32/33).

А.Б.Соктоев - инициатор и участник десяти фронтальных комплексных экспедиций по выявлению очагов современного бытования фольклора в Сибирско-дальневосточном регионе: они дали качественные записи для фоноприложений и музыкальных разделов к 50 томам.

Под руководством А.Б.Cоктоева Институт филологии СО РАН, осуществляющий комплексные исследования по языкознанию, фольклористике и литературоведению, стал одним из ведущих российских центров в области филологических наук, сотрудники которого активно участвуют в реализации масштабных международных научных проектов.

А.Б.Соктоев исследовал становление и эволюцию бурятской национальной литературы в широком историческом контексте межкультурного взаимодействия с культурами других народов Сибири и сопредельных территорий. Глубокое изучение истоков бурятской литературы в ее взаимоотношении с древнейшими литературами Востока - индийской, тибетской и монгольской - позволило принципиально изменить сложившееся в советской филологической науке представление о ней как о младописьменной.

Высокий научный профессионализм А.Б.Соктоева, его инициативность, незаурядные способности организатора и координатора крупных научно-исследовательских, издательских, культуроохранных программ признаны не только в России, но и за пределами нашей страны. А.Соктоев являлся членом Международного координационного совета по изучению культур родственных народов России и США.

Память о А.Б.Соктоеве увековечена посвящением на титуле томов серии «Памятники...» (начиная с 19-го тома), учрежденной Президентом Республики Бурятия именной стипендией в области литературоведения для учащихся, студентов и аспирантов, регулярными научными конференциями - «Соктоевскими чтениями» (с 2006). В Бурятском государственном университете открыт кабинет его имени.

*Источники:1)Памяти Александра Бадмаевича Соктоева // Наука в Сибири. - 1998. - N 27. - C.2.
2)Ромодановская Е.К. Член-корреспондент РАН Александр Бадмаевич Соктоев (1931-1998) / Ромодановская Е.К., Гацак В.М., Федоров А.И. // Известия Российской академии наук. Серия литературы и языка. - 1999. - Т.8, N 1. - C.79-80.
3)Соктоев Александр Бадмаевич // Российская академия наук. Сибирское отделение: Персональный состав / сост.: Г.Водичев, Г.М.Запорожченко, О.Н.Калинина, С.А.Красильников, Н.А.Куперштох, Д.Г.Симонов, С.Н.Ушакова, О.Н.Шелегина; отв. ред. В.М.Фомин. - Новосибирск: Наука, 2007. - С.510-511.
А.Б.Соктоев и А.Г.Калкин
 
Известный алтайский кайчи А.Г.Калкин играет на топшуре для А.Б.Соктоева и составительницы тома «Алтайские героические сказания» З.Г.Казагачевой
 
 

 
Научные школы ННЦ А.Б.СоктоевПодготовили Екатерина Бережная и Сергей Канн  
 

[Начало | О библиотеке | Академгородок | Новости | Выставки | Ресурсы | Партнеры | ИнфоЛоция | Поиск | English]
В 2004-2006 гг. проект поддерживался грантом РФФИ N 04-07-90121
 
© 2004-2017 Отделение ГПНТБ СО РАН (Новосибирск)
Статистика доступов: архив | текущая статистика

Документ изменен: Thu Feb 5 10:50:13 2015. Размер: 12,804 bytes.
Посещение N 3710 с 15.12.2011