Yury Borisovich Rumer (28.04.1901-1.02.1985)
  Rambler's Top100
 
 

Rumyer YU.B.




     *bibliography + data base (Rus)
     *life and work
     *selected works (Rus)



Schools of thought in NSC
PROFESSOR YURY BORISOVICH RUMER

Yury Borisovich Rumer was born on April 28, 1901. In 1917, he entered mathematical faculty of Petersburg University, and in April 1918, he changed it for Moscow University. Because of revolutionary events, Yu.B.Rumer graduated from the university just in 1924. However, besides his university education he got also thorough skill of optimistic vital stability that was so useful for him later on.

After his graduation from the university, during the severe unemployment, Yu.B.Rumer taught at worker's schools of Moscow and worked as statistics specialist in State Insurance, and at the same time he studied special and general relativity theory. His interests tended progressively from mathematics towards physics.

In 1926, Yu.B.Rumer's father could obtain biennial business trip for his son to the Higher Polytechnical School in Oldenburg (Germany). However, it was not absolutely the point that Yu.B.Rumer desired, and after he had got the technical diploma in 1929, he left for Goettingen, which was at that time among the centres of «new quantum faith». That small town attracted the talented youth from all over the world.

As he arrived there with the work in the general theory of relativity and obtained the Lorentz grant under recommendation of Einstein and Ehrenfest, Yu.B.Rumer worked in 1929-1932 as an assistant for Max Born, the head of theoretical physics in Goettingen. Heisenberg, Pauli, Dirac, Fermi, Teller, and Oppenheimer were among Born's collaborators.

Yu.B.Rumer, together with H.Weyl, W.Heitler, and E.Teller, became one of the founders of quantum chemistry. His pioneer works contributed to formative stage of this branch of knowledge.

In 1932, Yu.B.Rumer moved to Moscow and became the professor of Moscow university, where he worked until 1937. In 1935, he got a scientific degree of Ph.D. in physics and mathematics, and became the employee of the AS Physical Institute.

By 1938, Yu.B.Rumer was one of personalities who headed the Soviet theoretical physics. He conducted an active scientific work, published books that gained currency quickly: «Introduction to wave mechanics» (1935); and «Spinor analysis» (1936).

Rumer closely cooperated with Landau during this period. Classical theory of space downpours (Landau-Rumer theory) was one of the most interesting results of that cooperation.

The theory of solid body includes a well-known formula of Landau-Rumer for high-frequency sound absorption in dielectrics. The authors pioneered considering the processes of disintegration and merge of waves that were of major importance in physics of wave phenomena.

Later (in 1950s) Landau and Rumer have written a popular book «What is the relativity theory?». Published just 20 years later, the book aroused great interest of readers and sustained numerous publications in more than 20 languages of the world.

Yury Borisovich successfully applied his extensive physical and mathematical knowledge to solve practical problems. We could remark here his works that deal with problems of an antivibrator of torsional vibrations in complex systems, in bent shafts, and vibrations of a wheel in its rolling motion (shimmy of aviawheels). The results of these works were directly applied to domestic aircraft industry.

In 1938, Yu.B.Rumer was arrested and sentenced to ten years of imprisonment. He served his term of imprisonment not in a camp, but in so-called "sharaga", together with top-skill professionals, talented and interesting persons. Upon termination of his imprisonment term, he was banished for free settlement to Yeniseisk.

In early 1950s Yu.B.Rumer taught in Yeniseisk teacher's institute, while he continued working in a broad variety of fields in theoretical physics. During that period, he had found an exact decision of the Navier-Stokes equations for a flooded jet with a finite impulse flow. This decision is one of the benchmark points of hydrodynamics.

In 1953, he was enlisted as a senior research associate of West-Siberian Branch of Academy of Science. At the same time, he finished a cycle of the works that dealt with constructing of five-dimension field theory. Results of the research are disclosed in a monograph of Yu.B.Rumer «Studies on 5-optics» (1956).

From 1956 to 1964, Yu.B.Rumer is the director of Institute of Radiophysics and Electronics (IRE), the first institute in the field of physics in Novosibirsk. This period involves his works on statistical physics and theory of phase transitions, wherein he demonstrated a brilliant skill in mathematical apparatus of theoretical physics.

Despite substantial achievements and despite the fact that it was in the Rumer's institute where the Siberian first gas laser had been put into operation (in 1962), the Institute of Radiophysics was disbanded in 1964.

Creation of SB AS USSR resulted in that new institutes have been founded. In 1964, IRE was united with the Institute of Semiconductor Physics, and the theoretical group that Yu.B.Rumer created turned into a theoretical department of the new institute. After a short working period in the SB AS USSR Institute of Mathematics, Yury Borisovich began working in the Institute of Nuclear Physics (since 1967). His main scientific interests at this time involved methods of group theory in the modern-day physics of elementary particles.

Yu.B.Rumer was also involved in teaching. It centred around the Novosibirsk State University during almost two decades.

Yury Borisovich Rumer died on February 1, 1985. He was buried in Novosibirsk.

Yury Borisovich Rumer 
 
Sources:
1. Konopyel'chyenko B., Patashinskii A., Ryutova M. «Kvantovyi» vozrast // Za nauku v Sibiri. - 1981. - 23 apryelya, N 17;
2. Ginzburg I.F. Nauka v zhizni YU.B.Rumyera vsyegda, vyezdye, pri lyubykh usloviyakh // Vypuskniki MGU v Novosibirskom nauchnom tsyentrye SO RAN. 1957-2007. - Novosibirsk, 2007. - S.105-109;
3. Dubniscyeva T. «TORZHYESTVYENNO VOPROSHAYU TYEBYA!..» // Za nauku v Sibiri. - 2001. - N 17.

Schools of thought in NSC YU.B.RumyerPrepared by Klara YElkina and Sergei Kann  
 


[Home | Library | Akadyemgorodok | News | Exhibitions | Resources | Partners | InfoPilot | Search | Russian]
During 2004-2006 the project was supported by the grant of RFBR N 04-07-90121
© 2004-2016 Branch of SPSL (Novosibirsk)
Access statistics: archives | current

Updated: Wed Feb 27 14:46:44 2019. Size: 11,567 bytes.
Visit No. 2551 since 05.02.2013

Навигация
 
 
Румер Ю.Б.




     *библиография + база данных
     *жизнь и деятельность
     *избранные труды



Научные школы ННЦ
ПРОФЕССОР ЮРИЙ БОРИСОВИЧ РУМЕР

Юрий Борисович Румер родился 28 апреля 1901 года. В 1917 году - поступил на математический факультет Петербургского университета, а в апреле 1918 г. перевелся в Московский университет. Из-за революционных событий Ю.Б.Румер окончил университет только в 1924 году, но помимо университетского образования получил основательные навыки оптимистической жизненной стойкости, которые так пригодились ему в дальнейшем.

После окончания университета, в период массовой безработицы, Ю.Б.Румер преподавал на рабфаках Москвы и работал статистиком в Госстрахе, одновременно изучая специальную и общую теорию относительности. Постепенно его интересы склонялись от математики в сторону физики.

Отец Ю.Б.Румера в 1926 году смог выхлопотать для сына двухгодичную командировку в Высшую политехническую школу в Ольденбурге (Германия). Однако это было не совсем то, что ему хотелось, и после получения технического диплома в 1929 году Ю.Б.Румер направился в Геттинген, который в ту пору был одним из центров «новой квантовой веры». Городок притягивал к себе талантливую молодежь со всех сторон света.

Приехав туда с работой по общей теории относительности и получив по рекомендации Эйнштейна и Эренфеста Лоренцовскую стипендию, Ю.Б.Румер в 1929-1932 годах работал ассистентом у Макса Борна - главы теоретической физики в Геттингене. В числе сотрудников Борна были Гейзенберг, Паули, Дирак, Ферми, Теллер и Оппенгеймер.

Наряду с Г.Вейлем, В.Гайтлером и Э.Теллером Ю.Б.Румер стал одним из основателей квантовой химии. Его пионерные работы способствовали становлению этой отрасли знания.

В 1932 году Ю.Б.Румер переехал в Москву и стал профессором Московского университета, где работал до 1937 г. В 1935 году ему была присвоена ученая степень доктора физико-математических наук, он стал сотрудником Физического института АН.

К 1938 году Ю.Б.Румер был одной из фигур, возглавлявших советскую теоретическую физику. Он вел активную научную деятельность, публиковал книги, быстро получившие известность: «Введение в волновую механику» (1935); и «Спинорный анализ» (1936).

В этот период Румер тесно сотрудничал с Ландау. Одним из самых интересных результатов этого сотрудничества была классическая теория космических ливней (теория Ландау-Румера).

В теории твердого тела хорошо известна формула Ландау-Румера для поглощения высокочастотного звука в диэлектриках. Впервые рассмотренные ими процессы распада и слияния волн имеют важное значение в физике волновых явлений.

Позднее (в 1950-е годы) Ландау и Румер написали популярную книгу «Что такое теория относительности?». Опубликованная только через 20 лет, она вызвала живой интерес читателей и выдержала многочисленные издания на более чем 20 языках мира.

Обширные физико-математические знания Юрий Борисович с успехом применял к решению практических вопросов. Здесь можно отметить его работы, посвященные проблемам антивибратора крутильных колебаний сложных систем, коленчатых валов и колебаний колеса при его качении (шимми авиаколес). Результаты этих работ непосредственно применялись в отечественной авиапромышленности.

В 1938 году Ю.Б. Румер был арестован и приговорен к десяти годам лишения свободы. Срок отбывал не в лагере, а вместе со специалистами высшей квалификации, людьми талантливыми и интересными в так называемых "шарагах". По окончании срока заключения был отправлен в ссылку в Енисейск.

В начале 1950-х годов Ю.Б.Румер преподавал в Енисейском учительском институте, продолжая работать в самых различных областях теоретической физики. В этот период он нашел точное решение уравнений Навье-Стокса для затопленной струи с конечным потоком импульса. Это решение является одной из реперных точек гидродинамики.

В 1953 году его зачислили старшим научным сотрудником Западно-Сибирского филиала АН. В это же время он завершил цикл работ, посвященный построению пятимерной теории поля. Результаты этих исследований изложены в монографии Ю.Б.Румера «Исследования по 5-оптике» (1956).

С 1956 по 1964 год Ю.Б.Румер - директор Института радиофизики и электроники (ИРЭ) - первого института физического профиля в Новосибирске. К этому периоду относятся его работы по статистической физике и теории фазовых переходов, в которых он продемонстрировал блестящее владение математическим аппаратом теоретической физики.

Несмотря на ощутимые успехи и на то, что именно в институте Румера был запущен первый в Сибири газовый лазер (в 1962 г.), Институт радиофизики в 1964 году был расформирован.

С созданием СО АН СССР были созданы новые институты. В 1964 г. ИРЭ объединили с Институтом физики полупроводников, а теоретическая группа, созданная Ю.Б.Румером, превратилась в теоретический отдел нового института. После короткого периода работы в Институте математики СО АН СССР Юрий Борисович стал работать в Институте ядерной физики (с 1967 г.). В это время его основные научные интересы сосредоточились на методах теории групп в современной физике элементарных частиц.

Ю.Б.Румер вел преподавательскую деятельность. Почти два десятилетия она была связана с Новосибирским государственным университетом.

Юрий Борисович Румер умер 1 февраля 1985 года и похоронен в Новосибирске.

Румер Ю.Б. 
 
Источники:
1. Конопельченко Б., Паташинский А., Рютова М. «Квантовый» возраст // За науку в Сибири. - 1981. - 23 апреля, N 17;
2. Гинзбург И.Ф. Наука в жизни Ю.Б.Румера всегда, везде, при любых условиях // Выпускники МГУ в Новосибирском научном центре СО РАН. 1957-2007. - Новосибирск, 2007. - С.105-109;
3. Дубнищева Т. «Торжественно вопрошаю тебя!..» // Наука в Сибири. - 2001. - N 17.
Научные школы ННЦ Ю.Б.РумерПодготовили Клара Елкина и Сергей Канн  
 

[Начало | О библиотеке | Академгородок | Новости | Выставки | Ресурсы | Партнеры | ИнфоЛоция | Поиск | English]
В 2004-2006 гг. проект поддерживался грантом РФФИ N 04-07-90121
 
© 2004-2017 Отделение ГПНТБ СО РАН (Новосибирск)
Статистика доступов: архив | текущая статистика

Документ изменен: Wed Feb 4 12:03:43 2015. Размер: 10,060 bytes.
Посещение N 3273 с 19.10.2012