Lavryent'yev Mikhail Mikhailovich (21.07.1932 - 16.07.2010)
  Rambler's Top100
 
 

Lavryent'yev M.M.




     *bibliography + data base (Rus)
     *his life and work
     *selected works (Rus)



Schools of thought in NSC
ACADEMICIAN MIKHAIL MIKHAYLOVICH LAVRENTYEV*
 

Academician Mikhail Mikhaylovich Lavrentyev is a great Russian scientist-mathematician, an organizer of the Siberian science and a public figure, a winner of Lenin and State premiums.

M.M.Lavrentyev was born on July 21, 1932 in Moscow. The beginning of his scientific way is associated to M.V.Lomonosov Moscow State University. In 1950, he entered mechanico-mathematical faculty of the university, and in 1955, the postgraduate study of the university, to academician S.L.Sobolev. His first scientific works were published in 1953-1954.

During 1955-1957 M.M.Lavrentyev published a cycle of works that centers around the inverse problem of the potential theory and Cauchy problem for elliptical equations, on the basis of which he protected his PhD thesis in 1957.

All further scientific and pedagogical activity of M.M.Lavrentyev occurred in Siberia. Being a son and an associate of academician Mikhail Alekseevich Lavrentyev, an outstanding mathematician and mechanic, the founder and the first Chairman of the Siberian Branch of RAS, he was among the Siberian Branch 'pathfinders'. He arrived to Siberia together with his father soon after the decision of the USSR Council of ministers «About the creation of the Siberian Branch of Academy of Sciences» of 1957.

While working in the Institute of Mathematics, ever since its formation in 1957, from the position of junior research assistant up to the Head of the Laboratory of Problems of Geology and Geophysics, he created there the basis of the theory of improperly posed problems that has reached world-wide recognition nowadays, and in 1961, he has protected a thesis for a doctor's degree. At the same time, M.M.Lavrentyev worked for defense subjects and got the Lenin Prize for the works in this field in 1962.

In 1963, M.M.Lavrentyev, together with the laboratory, passes to the Computer Center of SB AS USSR and creates there a large department of mathematical problems of geophysics. At this time M.M.Lavrentyev intensively develops a new field that is the theory and applications of many-dimensional inverse problems for differential equations. Working in close cooperation with scientists from the Institute of Geology and Geophysics, he formulates a wide spectrum of inverse problems that are related to geophysical applications. During the next years, these formed a basis for intensive research for his numerous disciples. In addition, he works as the deputy director on science of the Computer Center of AS USSR for six years (from 1980 to 1986).

In 1968, M.M.Lavrentyev was elected a corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR, and in 1981, its full member. In 1987, he was awarded with the State Premium of the USSR for a cycle of works on the theory of inverse and incorrect problems. The scientific and pedagogical activity of M.M.Lavrentyev has been pointed out by many other high awards too.

From 1986 to 2002, M.M.Lavrentyev headed the S.L.Sobolev Institute of Mathematics of the Siberian Branch of RAS, and since 2002 he was an adviser of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

Numerous theoretical studies of M.M.Lavrentyev are being widely applied in geophysics, mechanics, biology, ecology, and other sciences. A distinctive feature of his scholarly works is the a deep insight into the essence of an applied problem. He inherited a vital principle from the father: the adequacy of scientific computations and created models to the actual facts of the matter. His ideas in the field of the theory of inverse problems have created an absolutely new scientific avenue in mathematical physics. These ideas have been implemented in a diversity of applied projects.

M.M.Lavrentyev created Siberian scientific school on inverse and incorrect problems that is world-wide recognized nowadays. He supervised over more than 100 protected PhD theses, and several dozen of his disciples became doctors of sciences. Likewise, M.M.Lavrentyev has significant merits in development of scholarly studies into inverse and incorrect problems abroad, particularly, in Italy, America, and Japan. He is the author of over hundred learned works that include eight monographs.

Besides the research, M.M.Lavrentyev conducted permanently a great pedagogical and organizational work. Ever since the foundation of the Novosibirsk State University in 1959, he taught there, while working at the mechanics and mathematics faculty. He headed the sub-faculty of mathematical methods in geophysics, and then, the sub-faculty of functions theory. He was involved in academic councils of the University; he was the chairman of a specialized academic board in protecting doctoral and PhD theses, and he worked as the dean of the mechanics and mathematics faculty for seven years.

M.M.Lavrentyev was the editor-in-chief of «Siberian Mathematical Journal», «Siberian Magazine of Industrial Mathematics», of the international «Journal of Inverse and Ill-Posed Problyems». He was in the editorial boards of some other mathematical journals. He was a member of the Presidium of the Siberian Branch of RAS for many years, the deputy of the academician-secretary of mathematics division of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

Mikhail Mikhaylovich was distinguished by a widely outlook and an active position with his life. He demonstrated a vivid involvement to find solution for several major Russian problems that were vital for the wide public. We shall note only a few of them. It was common knowledge that there were Academies of Sciences in all republics of the Soviet Union, but no in RSFSR. In this relation, a social movement appeared in late 1980s for the creation of the Academy of Sciences in Russian Federation. M.M.Lavrentyev ranked among the principal organizers of this Academy that has been created in 1991, but due to the USSR liquidation, it got the name of not Russian, but the Peter Academy of Sciences and Arts. He was elected its full member, and then its vice-president, and since 1993 up to the last his days was a member of the Presidium of its Novosibirsk Subdivision.

*Source:M.M.Lavryent'yev - vydayusciisya uchyenyi i organizator rossiiskoi nauki. K 80-lyetiyu so dnya rozhdyeniya / D.S.Anikonov, YU.S.Anikonov, S.I.Kabanikhin, V.G.Romanov, A.V.Sychyev // Nauka v Sibiri. - 2012. - N 28-29 (26 iyulya). - S.5.

 

Schools of thought in NSC M.M.Lavryent'yev | in RussianPrepared by: I.Kurbangalyeyeva, S.Kann, N.SHtyrova  
 


[Home | Library | Akadyemgorodok | News | Exhibitions | Resources | Partners | InfoPilot | Search | Russian]
During 2004-2006 the project was supported by the grant of RFBR N 04-07-90121
© 2004-2016 Branch of SPSL (Novosibirsk)
Access statistics: archives | current

Updated: Wed Feb 27 14:46:36 2019. Size: 12,438 bytes.
Visit No. 911 since 17.04.2016

Навигация
 
 
Лаврентьев М.М.




     *библиография + база данных
     *жизнь и деятельность
     *избранные труды



Научные школы ННЦ
АКАДЕМИК МИХАИЛ МИХАЙЛОВИЧ ЛАВРЕНТЬЕВ*
 

Академик Михаил Михайлович Лаврентьев - крупный российский ученый-математик, организатор сибирской науки и общественный деятель, лауреат Ленинской и Государственной премий.

М.М.Лаврентьев родился 21 июля 1932 года в Москве. Начало его научного пути связано с Московским государственным университетом им. М.В.Ломоносова. В 1950 г. он поступил на механико-математический факультет университета, а в 1955 г. - в аспирантуру университета к академику С.Л.Соболеву. Первые его научные работы были опубликованы в 1953-1954 гг.

В 1955-1957 гг. М.М.Лаврентьев опубликовал цикл работ, связанный с обратной задачей теории потенциала и задачей Коши для эллиптических уравнений, на основе которого в 1957 г. защитил кандидатскую диссертацию.

Вся дальнейшая научная и педагогическая деятельность М.М.Лаврентьева проходила в Сибири. Сын и сподвижник академика Михаила Алексеевича Лаврентьева, выдающегося математика и механика, основателя и первого председателя Сибирского отделения РАН, он был одним из «первопроходцев» Сибирского отделения, приехавшим вместе с его отцом в Сибирь вскоре после постановления Совета Министров СССР 1957 г. «О создании Сибирского отделения Академии наук СССР».

Работая в Институте математики со времени его образования в 1957 г., с должности младшего научного сотрудника до заведующего лабораторией задач геологии и геофизики, он создал здесь основы получившей ныне широкое мировое признание теории некорректно поставленных задач и в 1961 г. защитил докторскую диссертацию. В это же время М.М.Лаврентьев занимался оборонной тематикой и в 1962 г. за работы в этой области был награжден Ленинской премией.

В 1963 г. М.М.Лаврентьев вместе со своей лабораторией переходит в Вычислительный центр СО АН СССР и создает в нем крупный отдел математических задач геофизики. В это время М.М.Лаврентьев интенсивно развивает новое направление - теорию и приложения многомерных обратных задач для дифференциальных уравнений и в тесном сотрудничестве с учеными из Института геологии и геофизики формулирует широкий спектр обратных задач, связанных с геофизическими приложениями, послуживший в последующие годы основой для интенсивных исследований его многочисленных учеников. Кроме того, в течение шести лет (с 1980 по 1986 гг.) он работает заместителем директора Вычислительного центра АН СССР по научной работе.

В 1968 году М.М.Лаврентьев избирается членом-корреспондентом Академии наук СССР, а в 1981 г. - ее действительным членом. В 1987 г. за цикл работ по теории обратных и некорректных задач он был награжден Государственной премией СССР. Научная и педагогическая деятельность М.М.Лаврентьева была отмечена и многими другими высокими наградами.

С 1986 по 2002 год М.М.Лаврентьев возглавлял Институт математики им. С.Л.Соболева Сибирского отделения РАН, а с 2002 г. являлся советником Российской академии наук.

Многочисленные теоретические исследования М.М.Лаврентьева находят самое широкое применение в геофизике, механике, биологии, экологии и других науках. Характерной особенностью его научных работ является глубокое понимание сущности прикладной задачи. Им унаследован от отца жизненно важный принцип: адекватность научных расчетов и создаваемых моделей реальному положению вещей. Его идеи в области теории обратных задач создали совершенно новое научное направление в математической физике и были реализованы в целом ряде прикладных разработок.

М.М.Лаврентьев создал всемирно признанную ныне Сибирскую научную школу по обратным и некорректным задачам: под его руководством защищено более 100 кандидатских диссертаций, а несколько десятков его учеников стали докторами наук. Значительны заслуги М.М.Лаврентьева в развитии научных исследований по обратным и некорректным задачам и за рубежом, в частности, в Италии, Америке и Японии. Он - автор свыше ста научных трудов, в том числе 8 монографий.

Наряду с научными исследованиями М.М.Лаврентьев непрерывно вел большую педагогическую и организационную работу. Со времени основания в 1959 году Новосибирского государственного университета он преподавал в нем, работая на механико-математическом факультете. Он руководил кафедрой математических методов геофизики, а затем - кафедрой теории функций, являлся членом ученых советов Университета, председателем специализированного научного совета по защите докторских и кандидатских диссертаций, в течение семи лет работал деканом механико-математического факультета.

М.М.Лаврентьев являлся главным редактором «Сибирского математического журнала», «Сибирского журнала индустриальной математики», международного журнала «Journal of Inverse and Ill-Posed Problеms», входил в редколлегии ряда других математических журналов. Много лет он был членом Президиума Сибирского отделения РАН, заместителем академика-секретаря Отделения математики Российской академии наук.

Михаила Михайловича отличали широта мировоззрения и активная жизненная позиция. Он живо включался в решение ряда важнейших российских проблем, волновавших широкую общественность. Отметим лишь некоторые из них. Известно, что во всех республиках Советского Союза существовали Академии наук, за исключением РСФСР. В связи с этим в конце 1980-х годов возникло общественное движение за создание Академии наук в Российской Федерации. М.М.Лаврентьев являлся одним из главных организаторов этой Академии, которая в 1991 г. была создана, но в связи с ликвидацией СССР получила название не Российской, а Петровской академии наук и искусств. Он был избран ее действительным членом, а затем и вице-президентом, и с 1993 г. до конца своих дней был членом Президиума ее Новосибирского отделения.

*Источник:М.М.Лаврентьев - выдающийся ученый и организатор российской науки. К 80-летию со дня рождения / Д.С.Аниконов, Ю.С.Аниконов, С.И.Кабанихин, В.Г.Романов, А.В.Сычев // Наука в Сибири. - 2012. - N 28-29 (26 июля). - С.5.

 
Научные школы ННЦ М.М.Лаврентьев | in EnglishПодготовили: И.Курбангалеева, С.Канн, Н.Штырова  
 

[Начало | О библиотеке | Академгородок | Новости | Выставки | Ресурсы | Партнеры | ИнфоЛоция | Поиск | English]
В 2004-2006 гг. проект поддерживался грантом РФФИ N 04-07-90121
 
© 2004-2017 Отделение ГПНТБ СО РАН (Новосибирск)
Статистика доступов: архив | текущая статистика

Документ изменен: Wed Sep 2 03:47:22 2015. Размер: 10,541 bytes.
Посещение N 825 с 24.08.2015