Godunov Syergyei Konstantinovich (dob July 17, 1929)
  Rambler's Top100
 
 

Godunov S.K.




     *bibliography + data base
     *his life and work
     *selected works (Rus)



Schools of thought in NSC
ACADEMICIAN SYERGYEI KONSTANTINOVICH GODUNOV*
 

The full member of RAS (1994), corresponding member of AS USSR (1976), doctor in physics and mathematics (1966), full professor (1968). Mathematician. A professional in the field of the theory of differential equations, mathematical physics, calculus mathematics, mechanics of continuous media, numerical methods of linear algebra.

He was born on July 17, 1929 in Moscow. He graduated from mechanico-mathematical faculty of the Moscow State University (1951). He worked in V.A.Steklov Mathematical Institute of AS USSR (since 1951); junior, senior research associate, the head of a department (since 1953) in the Branch of Applied Mathematics of the same institute (from 1966, M.V.Keldysh Institute of the Applied Mathematics). Coincidentally with this, a scientific adviser in secure facilities (1957-1958, 1964). A teacher of the Moscow State University (1952-1960, assistant, senior lecturer, the full professor).

Since 1969 in the Siberian Branch: the head of a laboratory of the Computer Center of SB AS USSR (1969-1980); the head of a laboratory (department) (1980-2000), the Vice Director (1981-1983), acting director (1983-1986) of the Institute of Mathematics of SB AS USSR (nowadays S.L.Sobolev Institute of Mathematics of SB RAS). The adviser of RAS (since 2000). The teacher (1969-1997), the head of a sub-faculty of differential equations (1979-1990) in the Novosibirsk State University.

The founder of several new scientific avenues that unite the theory of hyperbolic equations with hydrodynamics and the elasticity theory, difference methods for the solution of differential equations and mathematical physics, linear algebra and problems of thermodynamics of continuous media. He has proposed a method, which was called by him afterwards, to perform numerical solution of stationary many-dimensional problems of gas dynamics using the establishment process for a nonstationary stream, whereby a wide class of problems for stationary flow has been solved.

He has made a significant contribution to the development of calculation methods for critical parameters of nuclear reactors, having suggested for this purpose using the orthogonal prorapid motion method that had later a widespread occurrence in diversified problems.

Widely accepted were his results in the development of general theory of difference schemes to solve differential equations.

He participated in creation of the mathematical theory of the processes that occur during metals distortion when they are welded by the explosion. The computations he supervised on the basis of special modelling equations made it possible to predict an important mechanical effect – the formation of a flooded jet of the welded metal component, which was confirmed experimentally. Jet theory formed a basis for creating a new method to measure the viscosity of metals at high-speed distortions.

While conducting a study with his disciples into solving the problems of computational linear algebra, he has come to a conclusion about the necessity to make essential modification of its basic concepts. He has developed algorithms with a guaranteed exactitude to solve a spectral problem for asymmetric matrices and systems of simple equations.

He is a member of the National Committee on Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (1987). A member of editorial boards of the magazines: «Calculus Mathematics and Mathematical Physics», «Siberian Magazine of Calculus Mathematics», «Siberian Mathematical Journal». An honourable professor of Michigan University (1997).

The winner of the Lenin Prize (1959), of A.N.Krylov Premium of AS USSR (1972), of M.A.Lavrentyev Premium of RAS (1993), of M.A.Lavrentyev Foundation Premium (2005).

He has been awarded with the Labour Red Banner Order (1956, 1975), with the Honour Badge Order (1954, 1981).

*Source:Godunov Syergyei Konstantinovich // Rossiiskaya akadyemiya nauk. Sibirskoye otdyelyeniye: Pyersonal'nyi sostav / Sost. YE.G.Vodichyev i dr. - Novosibirsk: Nauka, 2007. - S.70-71.

 

Schools of thought in NSC S.K.Godunov | in RussianPrepared by: I.Kurbangalyeyeva, Z.Vakhramyeyeva, S.Kann, N.SHtyrova  
 


[Home | Library | Akadyemgorodok | News | Exhibitions | Resources | Partners | InfoPilot | Search | Russian]
During 2004-2006 the project was supported by the grant of RFBR N 04-07-90121
© 2004-2016 Branch of SPSL (Novosibirsk)
Access statistics: archives | current

Updated: Wed Feb 27 14:46:32 2019. Size: 10,014 bytes.
Visit No. 772 since 27.05.2016

Навигация
 
 
Годунов С.К.




     *библиография + база данных
     *жизнь и деятельность
     *избранные труды



Научные школы ННЦ
АКАДЕМИК СЕРГЕЙ КОНСТАНТИНОВИЧ ГОДУНОВ*
 

Действительный член РАН (1994), член-корреспондент АН СССР (1976), доктор физико-математических наук (1966), профессор (1968). Математик. Специалист в области теории дифференциальных уравнений, математической физики, вычислительной математики, механики сплошных сред, численных методов линейной алгебры.

Родился 17 июля 1929 г. в Москве. Окончил механико-математический факультет Московского государственного университета (МГУ) (1951). Работал в Математическом институте им. В.А.Стеклова АН СССР (с 1951); младший, старший научный сотрудник, зав. отделом (с 1953) Отделения прикладной математики того же института (с 1966 Институт прикладной математики им. М.В.Келдыша). Одновременно научный консультант в закрытых предприятиях (1957-1958, 1964). Преподаватель МГУ (1952-1960, ассистент, доцент, профессор).

В Сибирском отделении с 1969 г.: зав. лабораторией Вычислительного центра СО АН СССР (1969-1980); зав. лабораторией (отделом) (1980-2000), зам. директора (1981-1983), исполняющий обязанности директора (1983-1986) Института математики СО АН СССР (ныне Институт математики им. С.Л.Соболева СО РАН). Советник РАН (с 2000). Преподаватель (1969-1997), зав. кафедрой дифференциальных уравнений (1979-1990) Новосибирского государственного университета.

Основоположник ряда новых научных направлений, объединяющих теорию гиперболических уравнений с гидродинамикой и теорией упругости, разностные методы решения дифференциальных уравнений и математическую физику, линейную алгебру и задачи термодинамики сплошных сред. Предложил впоследствии названный его именем метод численного решения стационарных многомерных задач газовой динамики с использованием процесса установления нестационарного потока, с помощью которого решен широкий класс задач стационарного обтекания.

Внес важный вклад в развитие методов расчета критических параметров ядерных реакторов, предложив использовать для этой цели метод ортогональной прогонки, нашедший в дальнейшем широкое распространение в разнообразных задачах.

Широкое распространение получили результаты по развитию общей теории разностных схем решения дифференциальных уравнений.

Принимал участие в создании математической теории процессов, сопровождающих деформацию металлов при сварке взрывом: расчеты, проведенные под его руководством на основе специальных модельных уравнений, позволили предсказать важный механический эффект - образование затопленной струи привариваемой металлической компоненты, подтвержденный экспериментом. Теория струи послужила основой для создания нового метода измерения вязкости металлов при высокоскоростных деформациях.

Проводя с учениками исследования по решению задач вычислительной линейной алгебры, пришел к выводу о необходимости существенного видоизменения в ее основных понятиях, разработал алгоритмы с гарантированной точностью по решению спектральной проблемы для несимметрических матриц и систем линейных уравнений.

Член Национального комитета по теоретической и прикладной механике (1987). Член редколлегий журналов: «Вычислительная математика и математическая физика», «Сибирский журнал вычислительной математики», «Сибирский математический журнал». Почетный профессор Мичиганского университета (1997).

Лауреат Ленинской премии (1959), премии им. А.Н.Крылова АН СССР (1972), премии им. М.А.Лаврентьева РАН (1993), премии Фонда им. М.А.Лаврентьева (2005).

Награжден орденами Трудового Красного Знамени (1956, 1975), «Знак Почета» (1954, 1981).

*Источник:Годунов Сергей Константинович // Российская академия наук. Сибирское отделение: Персональный состав / Сост. Е.Г.Водичев и др. - Новосибирск: Наука, 2007. - С.70-71.

 
Научные школы ННЦ С.К.Годунов | in EnglishПодготовили: И.Курбангалеева, З.Вахрамеева, С.Канн, Н.Штырова  
 

[Начало | О библиотеке | Академгородок | Новости | Выставки | Ресурсы | Партнеры | ИнфоЛоция | Поиск | English]
В 2004-2006 гг. проект поддерживался грантом РФФИ N 04-07-90121
 
© 2004-2017 Отделение ГПНТБ СО РАН (Новосибирск)
Статистика доступов: архив | текущая статистика

Документ изменен: Wed Dec 2 05:46:58 2015. Размер: 8,197 bytes.
Посещение N 582 с 30.11.2015