Akadyemik Vyeniamin Pavlovich CHyebotayev (27.08.1938 - 2.09.1992)
  Rambler's Top100
 
 

CHyebotayev V.P.







Scientific schools in NSC
ACADEMICIAN VYENIAMIN PAVLOVICH CHYEBOTAYEV*
 

Academician Veniamin Pavlovich Chebotaev (1938-1992) is an outstanding physicist, the first director of the Institute of laser physics of the Siberian branch of the Russian academy of sciences. His works in the field of quantum electronics and laser physics have gained the wide international recognition. V.P.Chebotaev created a famous world school in the field of spectroscopy of the ultrahigh resolution and quantum metrology. 10 doctors and more than 30 candidates of sciences are among his disciples.

Generation of narrow resonances, one of his researches, resulted in the advent of a radically new avenue of the nonlinear laser spectroscopy and allowed resolution of spectral methods to be significantly raised. On this basis, frequency-stable lasers have been created under supervision of V.P.Chebotaev; the first optical standard of time that was based on the use of frequency period of a stable laser has been designed. V.P.Chebotaev is the author who developed new types of tunable lasers and spectrometers for infra-red and ultra-violet spectral ranges, and who performed high-precision experiments that observed quantum and relativistic effects in optics.

V.P.Chebotaev suggested many original ideas in quantum electronics. The majority of them were implemented under his guide and they got all-round theoretical and experimental investigation. A large cycle of works has been completed on the theory of resonant interactions of optical fields with gas. The role of effects of levels population density and coherent effects within strong fields of laser radiation has been found out. Interesting results in the sphere of atomic collisions have been obtained: elastic scattering cross-sections have been measured in low-pressure gas by laser spectroscopy methods. Coherent radiation has been shown experimentally in spaced optical fields, which lays the groundwork for atomic optics interferometry, a new trend in physics.

The scope of scientific interests of V.P.Chebotaev is amazing, from problems of detecting gravitational waves to the use of lasers in medicine. Under his direction, optical techniques to register small shifts using highly stable lasers have been developed, which provided a basis for development of optical gauges to detect gravitational waves. He foretold the formation of crystal structures of ions when cooling ions in a trap. Observations are made about a possibility to create gamma-laser with the use of HCS on nuclear transitions. This is only partial list of works that have been completed by V.P.Chebotaev with his collaborators.

During the last period of his life, V.P.Chebotaev worked on problems of nonlinear spectroscopy of femtosecond impulses: their solution opens up new avenues for physical and applied research in the field of superfast processes. He has suggested a new type of laser that he called stabilitron, with the noise below quantum level, where advantages are taken of bistable properties of a resonant nonlinear absorbant.

Veniamin Pavlovich performed great scientific-and-organizational work. He participated in organizing committees of all All-Union conferences on nonlinear and coherent optics, the Vavilov conferences, and of many international conferences. He participated in RAS Scientific councils on problems "Coherent and nonlinear optics", "Spectroscopy of atoms and molecules", and the Commission on quantum electronics of the International union of theoretical and applied physics; he was a member of editorial boards of "Applied Physics", "Metrologia", and "Quantum electronics" magazines.

In 1978, V.P.Chebotaev has been awarded with the Lenin premium for his cycle of works on nonlinear narrow resonances in optics. In 1984, the American optical society granted Ch.H.Towns premium to V.P.Chebotaev for his pioneer research and for his contribution in the field of laser metrology, ultrahigh resolution spectroscopy, and highly stable laser sources. V.P.Chebotaev has been awarded with the Labour Red Banner Order for his merits in the development of physical science and in the preparation of scientific personnel.

*Source:Bagayev S.N. ZHizn', otdannaya naukye / Bagayev S.N., Baklanov YE.V. // Nauka v Sibiri. - 1998. - N 31/32. - S.3.
 
Akadyemiki V.P.CHyebotayev i S.S.Kutatyeladzye
 
Academicians V.P.CHyebotayev i S.S.Kutatyeladzye

 

Scientific schools in NSC V.P.CHyebotayevPrepared by A.O.SHishkina (ILF SO RAN) and S.K.Kann  
 


[Home | Library | Akadyemgorodok | News | Exhibitions | Resources | Partners | InfoPilot | Search | Russian]
During 2004-2006 the project was supported by the grant of RFBR N 04-07-90121
© 2004-2016 Branch of SPSL (Novosibirsk)
Access statistics: archives | current

Dokumyent izmyenyen: Wed Feb 27 14:46:28 2019. Razmyer: 10,692 bytes.
Posyescyeniye N 2557 s 12.02.2007

Навигация
 
 
Чеботаев В.П.




     *библиография + база данных
     *жизнь и деятельность
     *избранные труды



Научные школы ННЦ
АКАДЕМИК ВЕНИАМИН ПАВЛОВИЧ ЧЕБОТАЕВ*
 

Академик Вениамин Павлович Чеботаев (1938-1992) - выдающийся физик, первый директор Института лазерной физики Сибирского отделения Российской академии наук. Его работы в области квантовой электроники и лазерной физики завоевали широкое международное признание. В.П.Чеботаев создал известную в мире школу в области спектроскопии сверхвысокого разрешения и квантовой метрологии. Среди его учеников - 10 докторов и свыше 30 кандидатов наук.

Одно из его исследований - получение узких резонансов - привело к возникновению принципиально нового направления нелинейной лазерной спектроскопии и позволило существенно повысить разрешающую способность спектроскопических методов. На этой основе под руководством В.П.Чеботаева были созданы стабильные по частоте лазеры, разработан первый оптический стандарт времени, основанный на использовании периода колебаний стабильного лазера. В.П.Чеботаеву принадлежат разработки новых типов перестраиваемых лазеров и спектрометров для инфракрасной и ультрафиолетовой областей спектра, постановка прецизионных экспериментов по наблюдению квантовых и релятивистских эффектов в оптике.

В.П.Чеботаев предложил много оригинальных идей в квантовой электронике. Большинство из них реализовано под его руководством и получило всестороннее теоретическое и экспериментальное исследование. Выполнен большой цикл работ по теории резонансного взаимодействия оптических полей с газом. Выяснена роль эффектов населенности уровней и когерентных эффектов в сильных полях лазерного излучения. Получены интересные результаты в области атомных столкновений: измерены сечения упругого рассеяния в газе низкого давления методами лазерной спектроскопии. Экспериментально продемонстрировано когерентное излучение в разнесенных оптических полях, что закладывает основы нового направления физики - атомнооптической интерферометрии.

Поражает широта научных интересов В.П.Чеботаева - от проблем обнаружения гравитационных волн до использования лазеров в медицине. Под его руководством разработаны оптические методы регистрации малых смещений с использованием высокостабильных лазеров, что явилось основой для разработки оптических датчиков для детектирования гравитационных волн. Им предсказано образование кристаллических структур ионов при охлаждении ионов в ловушке. Высказаны соображения о возможности создания гамма-лазера с использованием ВКР на ядерных переходах. Таков далеко не полный перечень работ, выполненных В.П.Чеботаевым с сотрудниками.

В последние годы жизни В.П.Чеботаев работал над проблемами нелинейной спектроскопии фемтосекундных импульсов - их решение открывает новые возможности физических и прикладных исследований в области сверхбыстрых процессов. Он предложил новый тип лазеров, названный им стабилитроном, с уровнем шумов ниже квантового, в котором используются бистабильные свойства резонансного нелинейного поглотителя.

Вениамин Павлович вел большую научно-организационную работу. Он был членом оргкомитетов всех Всесоюзных конференций по нелинейной и когерентной оптике, Вавиловских конференций, многих международных конференций. Он являлся членом Научных советов РАН по проблемам "Когерентная и нелинейная оптика", "Спектроскопия атомов и молекул", Комиссии по квантовой электронике Международного союза теоретической и прикладной физики, входил в состав редколлегий журналов "Applied Physics", "Metrologia", "Квантовая электроника".

В 1978 г. В.П.Чеботаев был удостоен Ленинской премии за цикл работ по нелинейным узким резонансам в оптике. В 1984 г. Американское оптическое общество присудило В.П.Чеботаеву премию Ч.X.Таунса за пионерные исследования и вклад в области лазерной метрологии, спектроскопии сверхвысокого разрешения и высокостабильных лазерных источников. За заслуги в развитии физической науки и подготовке научных кадров В.П.Чеботаев награжден орденом Трудового Красного Знамени.

*Источник:Багаев С.Н. Жизнь, отданная науке / Багаев С.Н., Бакланов Е.В. // Наука в Сибири. - 1998. - N 31/32. - С.3.
 
Академики В.П.Чеботаев и С.С.Кутателадзе
 
Академики В.П.Чеботаев и С.С.Кутателадзе

 
Научные школы ННЦ В.П.ЧеботаевПодготовили А.О.Шишкина (ИЛФ СО РАН) и С.К.Канн  
 

[Начало | О библиотеке | Академгородок | Новости | Выставки | Ресурсы | Партнеры | ИнфоЛоция | Поиск | English]
В 2004-2006 гг. проект поддерживался грантом РФФИ N 04-07-90121
 
© 2004-2017 Отделение ГПНТБ СО РАН (Новосибирск)
Статистика доступов: архив | текущая статистика

Документ изменен: Wed Feb 4 12:06:51 2015. Размер: 9,013 bytes.
Посещение N 7517 с 12.02.2007