Borovkov Alyeksandr Alyeksyeyevich (dob. 06.03.1931)
  Rambler's Top100
 
 

Borovkov A.A.




     *bibliography + data base (Rus)
     *his life and work
     *Selected works (Rus)



Schools of thought in NSC
ACADEMICIAN ALYEKSANDR ALYEKSYEYEVICH BOROVKOV*
 

The full member (1990), corresponding member (1966) of AS USSR, doctor in physics and mathematics (1964), professor (1965). A mathematician, a specialist in the field of probability theory and mathematical statistics.

He was born on March 6, 1931, in Moscow. He graduated from mechanico-mathematical faculty (1954) and postgraduate study (1959) in Moscow State University.

In the Siberian Branch, as of 1960: a senior research associate, head of a laboratory (1961), of a department (1973), Vice Director (1981-1992), head of the Laboratory of probability theory and mathematical statistics (1992-2003) of the SB AS Institute of Mathematics (nowadays, S.L.Sobolev Institute of Mathematics of SB RAS). Councilor of RAS (as of 2003). A teacher in Novosibirsk State University (NSU) (since 1960), head (since 1965) of the sub-faculty of probability theory and mathematical statistics of NSU mechanico-mathematical faculty that he founded.

He achieved his basic results in the following fields: limit theorems for random walks and random processes, including the analysis of probabilities of large deviations; ergodicity and stability of random processes; asymptotic methods of mathematical statistics; theory of upkeep systems; Markov processes; boundary problems for random walks. He is the founder and the leader of the Siberian school on probability theory and mathematical statistics.

He has solved the problem of asymptotic expansions in boundary problems for random walks. He has suggested an approximate way in studying the convergence of measures and random processes. He has generalized many known theorems about convergence of processes in metric and arbitrary topological spaces, he has obtained unimprovable estimates of the convergence velocity in the central functional limit theorem and in the theorem of behaviour of probabilities at large deviations. General theorems of convergence to Markov diffusion processes have make it possible to develop effective asymptotic methods in studying of upkeep systems.

In the field of mathematical statistics, he has constructed asymptotically optimum tests for checking composite hypotheses; he has discovered a conservation law in the theory of hypothesis testing; he has achieved new results in solving the discord problem. He has defined ergodicity conditions close to minimum and the estimates of probabilities at large deviations for many-dimensional Markov chains asymptotically homogeneous in space. Based on this, he has proved theorems of ergodicity and stability for basic types of complicated communication webs and upkeep webs. An outcome from asymptotic analysis of random walks were new integro-local theorems; he completely studied an asymptotics of probabilities of large deviations, including asymptotic expansions in boundary problems for random walks.

Of particular importance in A.A.Borovkov's activity is creating manuals that reflect modern state of science. His textbooks «Probability Theory» and «Mathematical Statistics» became the standard ones in the system of national university education; they have been translated to several European languages.

He is a member of the International Statistical Institute (1977), a member of executive board of Bernoulli Society (1977). A member of a commission on probability theory and mathematical statistics at the Mathematical Department of RAS. The editor-in-chief of «Matyematichyeskiye trudy (Mathematical transactions)» and «Siberian Advances in Mathematics» magazines.

He is the winner of the USSR State Premium (1979), of the Premium in the field of education of the Russian Federation Government (2003), of A.A.Markov's Premium of RAS (2003).

He has been awarded by the People Friendship Order (1981), «Honour Badge» Order (1975), and by «the Order of Merit for Country» of the IV Degree (2002).

*Source: Borovkov Alyeksandr Alyeksyeyevich // Rossiiskaya akadyemiya nauk. Sibirskoye otdyelyeniye: Pyersonal'nyi sostav / Sost. YE.G.Vodichyev i dr. - Novosibirsk: Nauka, 2007. - S.34-35.

 

Schools of thought in NSC A.A.Borovkov | in RussianPrepared by: I.Pavlova, S.Kann, N.SHtyrova  
 


[Home | Library | Akadyemgorodok | News | Exhibitions | Resources | Partners | InfoPilot | Search | Russian]
During 2004-2006 the project was supported by the grant of RFBR N 04-07-90121
© 2004-2016 Branch of SPSL (Novosibirsk)
Access statistics: archives | current

Updated: Wed Feb 27 14:46:26 2019. Size: 10,408 bytes.
Visit No. 1238 since 07.12.2014

Навигация
 
 
Боровков А.А.




     *библиография + база данных
     *жизнь и деятельность
     *избранные труды



Научные школы ННЦ
АКАДЕМИК АЛЕКСАНДР АЛЕКСЕЕВИЧ БОРОВКОВ *
 

Действительный член (1990), член-корреспондент (1966) АН СССР, доктор физико-математических наук (1964), профессор (1965). Математик. Специалист в области теории вероятностей и математической статистики.

Родился 6 марта 1931 г. в Москве. Окончил механико-математический факультет (1954) и аспирантуру (1959) Московского государственного университета.

В Сибирском отделении с 1960 г.: старший научный сотрудник, зав. лабораторией (1961), отделом (1973), зам. директора (1981-1992), зав. лабораторией теории вероятностей и математической статистики (1992-2003) Института математики СО АН (ныне Институт математики им. С.Л.Соболева СО РАН). Советник РАН (с 2003). Преподаватель Новосибирского государственном университета (НГУ) (с 1960), руководитель основанной им кафедры теории вероятностей и математической статистики механико-математического факультета НГУ (с 1965).

Основные результаты получены в следующих областях: предельные теоремы для случайных блужданий и случайных процессов, включая анализ вероятностей больших уклонений; эргодичность и устойчивость случайных процессов; асимптотические методы математической статистики; теория систем обслуживания; марковские процессы; граничные задачи для случайных блужданий. Основатель и лидер сибирской научной школы по теории вероятностей и математической статистике.

Решил проблему асимптотических разложений в граничных задачах для случайных блужданий. Предложил аппроксимативный подход к исследованию сходимости мер и случайных процессов, обобщил многие известные теоремы о сходимости процессов в метрических и произвольных топологических пространствах, получил неулучшаемые оценки скорости сходимости в центральной функциональной предельной теореме и теоремы о поведении вероятностей больших уклонений. Общие теоремы о сходимости к марковским диффузионным процессам позволили разработать эффективные асимптотические методы исследования систем обслуживания.

В области математической статистики построил асимптотически оптимальные тесты для проверки сложных гипотез, открыл закон сохранения в теории проверки гипотез, получил новые результаты в решении задачи о разладке. Определил близкие к минимальным условия эргодичности и оценки вероятностей больших уклонений для асимптотически однородных в пространстве многомерных цепей Маркова. На этой основе доказал теоремы эргодичности и устойчивости для основных типов сложных коммуникационных сетей и сетей обслуживания. Результатом асимптотического анализа случайных блужданий явились новые интегролокальные теоремы, исчерпывающим образом исследована асимптотика вероятностей больших уклонений, включая асимптотические разложения в граничных задачах для случайных блужданий.

Особое место в деятельности А.А.Боровкова занимает создание учебных пособий, отражающих современное состояние науки. Его учебники «Теория вероятностей» и «Математическая статистика» стали основными в системе отечественного университетского образования, они переведены на европейские языки.

Член Международного статистического института (1977), член правления Общества Бернулли (1977). Член комиссии по теории вероятностей и математической статистики при Отделении математики РАН. Главный редактор журналов «Математические труды» и «Siberian Advances in Mathematics».

Лауреат Государственной премии СССР (1979), премии Правительства РФ в области образования (2003), премии им. А.А.Маркова РАН (2003).

Награжден орденами Дружбы народов (1981), «Знак Почета» (1975), «За заслуги перед Отечеством» IV степени (2002).

*Источник: Боровков Александр Алексеевич // Российская академия наук. Сибирское отделение: Персональный состав / Сост. Е.Г.Водичев и др. - Новосибирск: Наука, 2007. - С.34-35.

 
Научные школы ННЦ А.А.Боровков | in EnglishПодготовили: И.Павлова, С.Канн, Н.Штырова  
 

[Начало | О библиотеке | Академгородок | Новости | Выставки | Ресурсы | Партнеры | ИнфоЛоция | Поиск | English]
В 2004-2006 гг. проект поддерживался грантом РФФИ N 04-07-90121
 
© 2004-2017 Отделение ГПНТБ СО РАН (Новосибирск)
Статистика доступов: архив | текущая статистика

Документ изменен: Tue Feb 3 16:52:27 2015. Размер: 8,852 bytes.
Посещение N 2332 с 7.10.2014