Marchuk Guriy Ivanovich (8.06.1925 - 24.03.2013)
  Rambler's Top100
 
 

Marchuk G.I.




     *bibliography + data base (Rus)
     *his life and work
     *selected works (Rus)



Schools of thought in NSC
ACADEMICIAN GURIY IVANOVICH MARCHUK*
 


Academician Guriy Ivanovich Marchuk is an eminent scientist, science organizer and citizen of his country, a founder of scientific schools in computing and applied mathematics that based fundamental concepts and methodologies of simulation in nuclear power engineering, in physics of atmosphere and ocean, in immunology and medicine. His many-sided activity has brightly reflected an epoch in developing of Soviet and Russian science, this epoch being of outstanding importance in the history of Russian state and society.

Guriy Ivanovich was born in the family of rural teachers, at Volga. He got a brilliant education at the Leningrad University that was interrupted for army duty during the severe military years. His teachers were V.I.Smirnov and G.I.Petrashen, well-known mathematicians. In 1950, he published his first scientific work that dealt with the classical problem of elasticity theory that is the urgent subject nowadays. That was «About Lamb's problem in the case of semispace». In 1952, having moved at that time to Moscow, and having changed his scientific field, he had his PhD thesis presentation, named «Dynamics of large-scale fields of meteorological elements in baroclinic atmosphere» that was made with I.A.Kibel as his supervisor in the Geophysical Institute of AS USSR.

In 1953, an appointment was made by a governmental decision for G.I.Marchuk to continue his work in the Institute of Physics and Technology that was subordinated to the USSR Atomic Energy State Committee and that was located in Obninsk, Kaluga region.

Guriy Ivanovich was involved in the atomic project, however, later on his main task in the Mathematical Department of IPT he created became calculations of nuclear reactors for submarine fleet. The major state problem has been solved excellently, and in 1961, G.I.Marchuk with a group of scientists was awarded by the Lenin Prize.

In 1956, Guriy Ivanovich has protected the thesis for his doctor's degree. Based on this work, he published in 1958 the book «Numerical calculation methods for nuclear reactors», that was translated to several languages. It was actually one of the first monographs in computational mathematics. In this book, as well as in other books of G.I.Marchuk on the nuclear subject (the total of 7) that were published later or independently, or co-authored with his disciples and colleagues (V.P.Kochergin, V.I.Lebedev, G.A.Mihaylov, V.V.Penenko, and others), he has laid the groundwork for mathematical models and methods that determined the research avenues in this field for decades on. These included multigroup description of neutron fields, spherical harmonics methods, the theory of conjugated equations for neutrons value, calculation algorithms for cross-section of nuclear reactions, etc.

Starting from his first years of scientific and organizational activity G.I.Marchuk followed the principle «there is no scientist without his disciples». In Obninsk Branch of the Moscow Engineering Physics Institute, he organized and headed a sub-faculty of applied mathematics, where he red lectures and worked hard, similar to all his later life, with post-graduate students and scientific youth. In IPT, Guriy Ivanovich had at that time 13 protected candidates of sciences; many of them got a doctor's degree later.

In 1962, academicians M.A.Lavrentev and S.L.Sobolev invited G.I.Marchuk to the Siberian Branch of AS USSR to organize the Computer center in the Novosibirsk Akademgorodok. The institute that was formally found on January 01, 1964 and that included about 1300 employees at its best time has played the unique role in developing the modern fields of computational mathematics and computer science. The institute was a forge shop for the staff and alma mater for many known scientists, scientific groups, and new institutes. Computer Center of SB AS USSR was a starting point for nearly 30 (!) directors of various scientific institutes and organizations. The institute was one of the symbols of Akademgorodok and a traditional place to invite numerous honored guests.

Guriy Ivanovich has attracted such scientists as A.P.Ershov, M.M.Lavrentev, N.N.Yanenko, S.K.Godunov, A.S.Alekseev, and G.A.Mihaylov to CC of SB AS USSR. They have created afterwards world-rated schools of thought in computer science, in the theory of incorrect problems, in mechanics of continuous medium, in computational algebra, and methods of mathematical physics, in geophysics, and in algorithms of statistical simulation.

The Siberian years of G.I.Marchuk were very fruitful regarding his personal creative successes. His mathematical findings on approximating procedures, on decomposition principles, on theory of iteration schemes, and other numerical methods provided the basis for many known monographs: «Methods of computational mathematics» (1973, multiply republished in different languages), «Iteration methods and square functionals» (1972, together with Yu.A.Kuznetsov), «Monte-Carlo methods in atmosphere optics» (1976, together with G.A.Mihaylov), «Enhancing the exactitude of solutions for difference schemes» (1979, together with V.V.Shaydurov), «Introduction to projection-network schemes» (1981, together with V.I.Agoshkov), «Methods of decomposition and variable directions» (1986). The cycle of works that was accomplished under supervising of G.I.Marchuk on development and application of statistical simulation methods to solve many-dimensional problems of radiation transfer theory got him being awarded with the State Premium in 1979.

Guriy Ivanovich has created an outstanding school in physics of atmosphere and ocean, the kernel of which constituted I.V.But, L.N.Gutman, G.P.Kurbatkin, V.P.Kochergin he invited to Siberia and a large group of young enthusiasts. The outcomes G.I.Marchuk have obtained in the field of numerical methods for the problems of weather forecast and general circulation in the atmosphere are currently classical. He formulated also solution methods for the full equations of ocean thermo-hydrodynamics, the basis for which is main conservation laws and decomposition algorithms. He published monographs on these problems: «Numerical methods in weather forecast» (1967), «Numerical solutions for the dynamic problems of atmosphere and ocean» (1974), «Mathematical models of ocean circulation» (1980). In 1975, Guriy Ivanovich has been awarded with A.A.Fridman premium of AS USSR for a cycle of works in the field of hydrodynamic methods of weather forecast.

G.I.Marchuk formulated the basis of mathematical modelling in immunology. He created semiempirical models and identification methods for their parameters affording an opportunity to describe quantitatively the dynamics of the immune response of a human body to virus and bacterial infections. Guriy Ivanovich got M.V.Keldysh gold medal award for developing the new mathematical methods in immunology and medicine that were published in main papers and monographs («Mathematical models in immunology», 1980, 1985, «Chronic bronchitis: immunology, gravity assessment, clinic, treatment», 1995, together with E.P.Berbentsova).

G.I.Marchuk fulfilled pioneer works in mathematical modelling of ecological processes in the environment. Within the limits of the given field, he offered basic formulations and solution methods for a variety of optimization problems, particularly, for the problem on an admissible area to arrange commercial manufacturers. For the works in the field of simulation of the environment, he has been awarded with A.P.Karpinskiy premium in 1988.

G.I.Marchuk has great merits for a formative stage of Siberian computer science that holds world-best positions since 1960s. It was to a large measure Guriy Ivanovich's energy and personal initiative, his moral and organizational support, that young laboratory of A.P.Ershov grew into a big multi-field department, which transformed later into the Institute of Informatics Systems of SB RAS.

Guriy Ivanovich created a school of uninterrupted preparation of top-skill professionals in computational mathematics and computer simulation. Its basis was a sub-faculty of the Novosibirsk State University that L.V.Kantorovich passed to him in 1964 and postgraduate study of Computer Center of SB AS. The disciples of G.I.Marchuk, namely V.A.Vasilenko, V.I.Drobyshevich, V.P.Ilyin, V.I.Kuzin, Yu.A.Kuznetsov, A.M.Matsokin, V.V.Penenko, became in a short time heads of laboratories and continued successfully the professional training, then Guriy Ivanovich's scholarly «grandsons». During the guide of Computer Center by G.I.Marchuk, it has been grown up the total of about 30 doctors of sciences.

Talent of Guriy Ivanovich, inquisitive researcher, combined happily with the genius of scientific-and-organizational work, which was guaranteed by his personal human qualities and his inexhaustible energy.

In 1969-75, he is a vice-president of the Siberian Branch of AS USSR, and since 1975, he is the successor of Mikhail Alekseevich Lavrentyev at the position of the SB AS USSR Chairman and vice-president of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR. The concept of the branch approach he founded and the national program «Siberia» have defined for many years the strategy to promote scientific achievements and the policy of interaction with regional economies.

In 1980, G.I.Marchuk got the position of the SCST Chairman, the State Committee on Science and Technology, and the vice-president of the USSR Ministerial council. He moved to Moscow with scholarly «crew», a big group of young scientists (V.I.Agoshkov, V.P.Dymnikov, Yu.A.Kuznetsov and others, total of about 20 person). The group formed the basis for the Department of Computational Mathematics that was reorganized later in the Institute of Computational Mathematics of AS USSR.

G.I.Marchuk has made much to strengthen the industrial branch scientific organizations and for their interaction with the academic institutes as well as for the development of the international cooperation, including that with the Council for Mutual Economic Aid of socialist countries.

In 1986, G.I.Marchuk was elected the President of the USSR Academy of Sciences, and he stayed at this position until its reorganization into the Russian Academy of Sciences in 1991. It was during Guriy Ivanovich's stay on the higher supervising positions that the National Academy of Sciences became considerably stronger. It is his merit in a large extent that the subsidiaries of the Siberian Branch, as well as the Far East and Ural Branch of RAS developed.

Scientific, pedagogical, and organizational activity of G.I.Marchuk was inseparable from his active involvement into the public and political life. Guriy Ivanovich was deeply convinced of the state urgency to develop fundamental and applied sciences and to promote their outcomes for the industrial production and agriculture.

He published permanently publicistic and popular works in tens of the widely variable newspapers and magazines. The works subjects amaze with their variety, in-depth knowing of the material, and the emotional effect.

The unique creative heritage of G.I.Marchuk constitute more than thirty monographs, several hundreds of learnt works, a great number of popular scientific publications, and very interesting memoir books as well as papers of public and civilian context. The latter ones deal with the most topical problems of scientific community; at the same time, they are of urgent importance for the entire country.

The school of Guriy Ivanovich is hundreds of his disciples, scientific «grandsons» , and associates who develop modern-day directions of computing and applied mathematics, computer science, and mathematical modelling within the most widely scope of the human knowledge in numerous institutes and universities of Russia and in the near and far-abroad countries.

Multi-sided scientific activity of Guriy Ivanovich has obtained a great national and world recognizing. He was the repeated winner of the State and personal scientific premiums, the winner of high governmental awards, the Socialist Labour Hero. G.I.Marchuk is elected the foreign member of 11 world academies. He has the rank of the honourable doctor in 8 universities of the world.

*Source: Il'in V.P. Gurii Ivanovich Marchuk - uchyenyi i grazhdanin // Nauka v Sibiri. - 2013. - N 23 (13 iyunya). - S.4-5.

 

Schools of thought in NSC G.I.Marchuk | in RussianPrepared by: K.YElkina, S.Kann, N.SHtyrova  
 


[Home | Library | Akadyemgorodok | News | Exhibitions | Resources | Partners | InfoPilot | Search | Russian]
During 2004-2006 the project was supported by the grant of RFBR N 04-07-90121
© 2004-2016 Branch of SPSL (Novosibirsk)
Access statistics: archives | current

Updated: Wed Feb 27 14:46:38 2019. Size: 19,356 bytes.
Visit No. 1071 since 07.02.2016

Навигация
 
 
Марчук Г.И.




     *библиография + база данных
     *жизнь и деятельность
     *избранные труды



Научные школы ННЦ
АКАДЕМИК ГУРИЙ ИВАНОВИЧ МАРЧУК*
 


Академик Гурий Иванович Марчук, выдающийся ученый, организатор науки и гражданин, основатель научных школ по вычислительной и прикладной математике, заложивших фундаментальные концепции и методологии моделирования в ядерной энергетике, физике атмосферы и океана, иммунологии и медицине. В его многогранной деятельности нашла яркое отражение эпоха развития советской и российской науки, сыгравшей исключительную роль в истории нашего государства и общества.

Гурий Иванович родился в семье сельских учителей на Волге. Получил блестящее образование в Ленинградском университете, которое в суровые военные годы прерывалось службой в армии. Его учителями были знаменитые математики В.И.Смирнов и Г.И.Петрашень. В 1950 году - первая научная публикация, посвященная классической проблеме теории упругости, актуальной и в наши дни: «О задаче Лэмба в случае полупространства». В 1952 году, уже после переезда в Москву и смены научного направления - защита кандидатской диссертации под руководством И.А.Кибеля в Геофизическом институте АН СССР по теме «Динамика крупномасштабных полей метеорологических элементов в бароклинной атмосфере».

В 1953 г. правительственным постановлением Г.И.Марчук был направлен на работу в Физико-энергетический институт, подведомственный Государственному комитету по атомной энергии СССР и расположенный в г. Обнинске Калужской области.

Гурий Иванович участвовал в атомном проекте, однако затем главной задачей созданного им Математического отдела ФЭИ стали расчеты ядерных реакторов для подводного флота. Эта важнейшая государственная проблема была блестяще решена, и в 1961 г. Г.И.Марчук в составе коллектива ученых награжден Ленинской премией.

В 1956 г. Гурий Иванович защитил докторскую диссертацию, по материалам которой в 1958 г. была опубликована книга «Численные методы расчета ядерных реакторов», переведенная на несколько языков и ставшая фактически одной из первых монографий по вычислительной математике. В ней, а также в других книгах Г.И.Марчука по ядерной тематике (всего их семь), изданных позже или самостоятельно, или в соавторстве с учениками и коллегами (В.П.Кочергин, В.И.Лебедев, Г.А.Михайлов, В.В.Пененко и др.), были заложены основы математических моделей и методов, определивших на десятилетия вперед направления научного развития в данной области: многогрупповое описание нейтронных полей, методы сферических гармоник, теория сопряженных уравнений для ценности нейтронов, алгоритмы расчета сечений ядерных реакций и т.д.

С первых лет научно-организационной деятельности Г.И.Марчук следовал принципу «нет ученого без учеников». В Обнинском филиале Московского инженерно-физического института он организовал и возглавил кафедру прикладной математики, читал лекции и, как потом в течение всей жизни, много работал с аспирантами и научной молодежью. В ФЭИ у Гурия Ивановича уже было 13 защитившихся кандидатов, многие из которых потом стали докторами наук.

В 1962 году Г. И. Марчук был приглашен академиками М.А.Лаврентьевым и С.Л.Соболевым в Сибирское отделение АН СССР для организации Вычислительного центра в новосибирском Академгородке. Этот институт, формально основанный 1.01.1964 г. и в период расцвета насчитывавший около 1300 сотрудников, сыграл уникальную роль в формировании современных направлений вычислительной математики и информатики, явился кузницей кадров и «альма-матер» для многих известных ученых, научных коллективов и новых институтов. Из ВЦ СО АН СССР вышло около 30(!) директоров различных научных институтов и организаций. Институт был одной из «визитных карточек» Академгородка и традиционным местом для посещения многочисленных почетных гостей.

Гурий Иванович привлек в ВЦ СО АН СССР таких ученых, как А.П.Ершов, М.М.Лаврентьев, Н.Н.Яненко, С.К.Годунов, А.С.Алексеев и Г.А.Михайлов, которые впоследствии создали свои научные школы мирового уровня по информатике, по теории некорректных задач, по механике сплошной среды, по вычислительной алгебре и методам математической физики, по геофизике и по алгоритмам статистического моделирования.

Сибирские годы Г.И.Марчука были очень плодотворны в плане личных творческих достижений. Его математические результаты по аппроксимационным походам, по принципам расщепления, по теории итерационных алгоритмов и другим численным методам легли в основу многих известных монографий: «Методы вычислительной математики» (1973 г., многократно переиздававшейся на разных языках), «Итерационные методы и квадратичные функционалы» (1972 г., совместно с Ю.А.Кузнецовым), «Методы Монте-Карло в атмосферной оптике» (1976 г., совместно с Г.А.Михайловым), «Повышение точности решений разностных схем» (1979 г., совместно с В.В.Шайдуровым), «Введение в проекционно-сеточные методы» (1981 г., совместно с В.И.Агошковым), «Методы расщепления и переменных направлений» (1986 г.). За выполненный под руководством Г.И.Марчука цикл работ по развитию и применению методов статистического моделирования для решения многомерных задач теории переноса излучения ему в 1979 году была присуждена Государственная премия.

Гурий Иванович создал выдающуюся научную школу по физике атмосферы и океана, ядро которой составили приглашенные им в Сибирь И.В.Бут, Л.Н.Гутман, Г.П.Курбаткин, В.П.Кочергин и большая группа молодых энтузиастов. Результаты, полученные Г.И.Марчуком в области численных методов решения задач прогноза погоды и общей циркуляции атмосферы, в настоящее время уже стали классическими. Он сформулировал также методы решения полных уравнений термогидродинамики океана, в основе которых лежат основные законы сохранения и алгоритмы расщепления. По этим вопросам им были опубликованы монографии: «Численные методы в прогнозе погоды» (1967 г.), «Численное решение задач динамики атмосферы и океана» (1974 г.), «Математические модели циркуляции в океане» (1980 г.). За цикл работ в области гидродинамических методов прогноза погоды в 1975 г. Гурий Иванович был удостоен премии им. А.А.Фридмана АН СССР.

Г.И.Марчуком сформулированы основы математического моделирования в иммунологии. Им созданы полуэмпирические модели и методы идентификации их параметров, дающие возможность количественно описать динамику иммунного ответа человеческого организма на вирусные и бактериальные инфекции. За создание новых математических методов в иммунологии и медицине, опубликованных в основополагающих статьях и монографиях («Математические модели в иммунологии», 1980, 1985 гг., «Хронический бронхит: иммунология, оценка тяжести, клиника, лечение», 1995 г., совместно с Э.П.Бербенцовой), Гурию Ивановичу была присуждена золотая медаль им. М.В.Келдыша.

Г.И.Марчуком выполнены пионерные работы по математическому моделированию экологических процессов окружающей среды. В рамках данного направления им были предложены основные постановки и методы решения целого ряда оптимизационных задач, в частности, задачи о допустимой области размещения промышленных предприятий. За работы в области моделирования окружающей среды ему в 1988 г. была присуждена премия им. А.П.Карпинского.

Огромные заслуги принадлежат Г.И.Марчуку в становлении сибирской информатики, с 60-х годов завоевавшей и успешно отстаивающей передовые мировые позиции. В значительной степени благодаря личной инициативе и энергии Гурия Ивановича, его моральной и организационной поддержке молодая лаборатория А.П.Ершова выросла в большой многопрофильный отдел, который затем трансформировался в Институт систем информатики СО РАН.

Гурием Ивановичем была создана школа бесперебойной подготовки специалистов высшей квалификации по вычислительной математике и компьютерному моделированию. Основой этого стала переданная ему в 1964 г. Л.В.Канторовичем кафедра Новосибирского госуниверситета, а также аспирантура Вычислительного центра СО АН. Ученики Г.И.Марчука - В.А.Василенко, В.И.Дробышевич, В.П.Ильин, В.И.Кузин, Ю.А.Кузнецов, А.М.Мацокин, В.В.Пененко - стали в скором времени заведующими лабораториями и успешно продолжили подготовку кадров - научных «внуков» Гурия Ивановича. Всего же за время руководства Вычислительного центра Г.И.Марчуком выращено около 30 докторов наук.

Талант пытливого исследователя Гурия Ивановича счастливо сочетался с гением научно-организационной работы, залогом чего являлись его личные человеческие качества и неисчерпаемая энергия.

В 1969-75 гг. он - заместитель председателя Сибирского отделения АН СССР, а с 1975 года стал преемником Михаила Алексеевича Лаврентьева на постах председателя СО АН СССР и вице-президента Академии наук СССР. Заложенная им концепция выхода на отрасль и национальная программа «Сибирь» на много лет вперед определили стратегию внедрения научных достижений и политику взаимодействия с народным хозяйством регионов.

В 1980 году Г.И.Марчук назначается председателем ГКНТ - Государственного комитета по науке и технике - и заместителем Председателя Совета Министров СССР. Он переезжает в Москву с научным «десантом» - большой группой молодых ученых (В.И.Агошков, В.П.Дымников, Ю.А.Кузнецов и другие - всего около 20 человек), на базе которой создается Отдел вычислительной математики, позже реорганизованный в Институт вычислительной математики АН СССР.

Г.И.Марчук много сделал для укрепления отраслевых научных организаций и их взаимодействия с академическими институтами, а также для развития международного сотрудничества, в том числе в рамках Совета экономической взаимопомощи социалистических стран.

В 1986 г. Г.И.Марчук избирается президентом Академии наук СССР и остается на этом посту до ее реорганизации в Российскую академию наук в 1991 г. Именно во время пребывания Гурия Ивановича на высших руководящих должностях значительно укрепилась отечественная Академия наук, и в большой степени ему обязаны развитием филиалы Сибирского отделения, а также Дальневосточное и Уральское отделения РАН.

Научная, педагогическая и организационная деятельность Г.И.Марчука была неотделима от его активного участия в общественной и политической жизни. Гурий Иванович глубоко чувствовал государственную важность развития фундаментальных и прикладных наук, а также внедрения их результатов в промышленное производство и сельское хозяйство.

Его публицистические и популярные работы постоянно печатались в десятках самых различных газет и журналов, а тематика статей поражает разнообразием, глубиной проникновения в материал и эмоциональностью воздействия.

Уникальное творческое наследие Г.И.Марчука - это более тридцати монографий, несколько сот научных статей, большое количество научно-популярных изданий и очень интересных мемуарных книг, а также статьи общественного и гражданского звучания, затрагивающие не только самые актуальные проблемы научного сообщества, но и имеющие критическое значение для всей страны.

Школа Гурия Ивановича - это сотни его учеников, научных «внуков» и единомышленников, которые в многочисленных институтах и университетах России, а также ближнего и дальнего зарубежья развивают современные направления вычислительной и прикладной математики, информатики и математического моделирования в самых широких сферах человеческого познания.

Многогранная научная деятельность Гурия Ивановича получила большое национальное и мировое признание. Он являлся неоднократным лауреатом Государственных и именных научных премий, кавалером высоких правительственных орденов, Героем Социалистического Труда. Г.И.Марчук избран иностранным членом 11 академий, ему присвоено звание почетного доктора 8 университетов мира.

*Источник: Ильин В.П. Гурий Иванович Марчук - ученый и гражданин // Наука в Сибири. - 2013. - N 23 (13 июня). - С.4-5.

 
Научные школы ННЦ Г.И.Марчук | in EnglishПодготовили: К.Елкина, С.Канн, Н.Штырова  
 

[Начало | О библиотеке | Академгородок | Новости | Выставки | Ресурсы | Партнеры | ИнфоЛоция | Поиск | English]
В 2004-2006 гг. проект поддерживался грантом РФФИ N 04-07-90121
 
© 2004-2017 Отделение ГПНТБ СО РАН (Новосибирск)
Статистика доступов: архив | текущая статистика

Документ изменен: Thu Jan 19 08:50:26 2017. Размер: 17,081 bytes.
Посещение N 1765 с 2.06.2015